Part of the Lancaster Diocese

Lancaster Diocese Logo
Part of the Diocese of Lancaster

Interactive Bar

St Cuthbert's Catholic School

St Cuthbert's Catholic School

Curriculum Plan


The National Curriculum applies to pupils of compulsory school age in community and foundation schools, including community special schools and foundation special schools, and voluntary aided and voluntary controlled schools.  It is organised on the basis of four key stages.


  • Key stage 1: Ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)
  • Key stage 2: Ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)
  • Key stage 3: Ages 11-14 (Years 7-9)
  • Key stage 4: Ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)


At key stages 1 and 2 the statutory subjects that all pupils must study are Art and Design, Design and Technology, English, Geography, History, Information and Communication Technology, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education and Science.  Religious Education must also be provided at key stages 1 and 2.  MFL (modern foreign language) has been added for Key stage 2.



Our curriculum follows the national statutory requirements and guide lines.  Teachers plan for each class using the Cornerstones Curriculum that ensures that all children are given access to broad and balanced learning experiences which are progressive and continuous through out their primary school life.


Curriculum information is sent out by each class teacher each half term/term with a knowledge organiser and a topic overview.  This contains information about the learning that will take place during that term in each of the subject areas taken from the national curriculum.


If you would like more information about the curriculum we follow in school, please contact Mrs Hutchinson on 01228 818201